OVERVIEW
About this data centre
Seven VIRTUS data centres and 145.5 MW on the Slough Trading Estate
The VIRTUS Data Centre Campus at Slough is on the Slough Trading Estate and comprises seven facilities with 145.5 MW of IT load. VIRTUS lists LONDON3 (7.2 MW, 3,000 m² net technical space), LONDON4 (26.6 MW, 10,600 m²), LONDON9 (24 MW, 10,000 m²), LONDON10 (6.6 MW, 3,000 m²), LONDON11 (13.3 MW, 5,500 m²), LONDON12 (21 MW, 7,800 m²) and LONDON19 (33.5 MW, 8,500 m²). VIRTUS says its campuses are designed and built to an Uptime Tier III standard.
The campus uses VIRTUS's air flooded room principle with hot-aisle containment and can host racks of up to 80 kW, with ultra-high density options for high performance computing. The facilities are carrier neutral, with a wide choice of Tier I and Tier II carriers and on-ramp access to major cloud and connectivity platforms, and VIRTUS provides a dedicated 24/7 on-site security team with a defence-in-depth approach.
VIRTUS's LONDON9 spec sheet, the published sheet for a Slough building, lists a 40 MVA diversely routed National Grid supply, a centralised N+N online UPS plant with N, N+1 and N+N options, N+1 LV DCC generators with 48 hours at full load, N+1 chilled water cooling with free cooling chillers, high fog fire suppression with VESDA detection, and rack, pod, cage and data hall colocation with 24/7 remote hands.
Services & suitable workloads
Rack options
VIRTUS says the Slough campus can host racks of up to 80 kW; the LONDON9 spec sheet lists rack, pod, cage and data hall colocation.
Technical specifications
- Fire suppression
- High fog fire suppression with VESDA aspirated smoke detection (LONDON9 spec sheet)
- Aisle containment
- Hot aisle
- LONDON3
- 7.2 MW, 3,000 m² net technical space
- LONDON4
- 26.6 MW, 10,600 m²
- LONDON9
- 24 MW, 10,000 m²
- LONDON10
- 6.6 MW, 3,000 m²
- LONDON11
- 13.3 MW, 5,500 m²
- LONDON12
- 21 MW, 7,800 m²
- LONDON19
- 33.5 MW, 8,500 m²
Power infrastructure
- Total facility capacity
- 145.5 MW
- Generator backup
- Yes
Cooling systems
- Cooling type
- VIRTUS air flooded room principle with hot-aisle containment; chilled water with free cooling chillers (LONDON9)
- Cooling redundancy
- N+1 chilled water (LONDON9 spec sheet)
- Aisle containment
- Hot aisle
VIRTUS lists 145.5 MW of IT load across seven Slough buildings and racks of up to 80 kW. Its LONDON9 spec sheet lists N+N UPS and N+1 generators with 48 hours at full load.
Sustainability
VIRTUS describes an eco-efficient design; its LONDON9 spec sheet lists a design PUE below 1.3, design to BREEAM Excellent and free cooling chillers.
Carrier neutral, with access to a wide choice of Tier I and Tier II carriers and on-ramp access to all major cloud and connectivity platforms, including VIRTUS Cloud Connect.
Physical security
Monitoring systems
VIRTUS operates a defence-in-depth approach with a dedicated 24/7 on-site security team. The LONDON9 spec sheet adds a 3 metre perimeter fence, vehicle traps, IP CCTV, bollards and biometric entry.
Tier designationTier 3 aligned (not certified)
Compliance overview
LONDON9 spec sheet: ISO 9001, ISO 14001, ISO 50001, ISO 45001, ISO 20000, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, ISO 22301, ISAE 3402, PCI DSS v4.0, Uptime Institute Management & Operations, Cyber Essentials Plus and RoSPA Gold (operator).
Operator’s tier statement
VIRTUS says its campuses are designed and built to an Uptime Tier III standard; the LONDON9 spec sheet says built to Uptime Tier III standard.
Listed standards
ISO 9001
- Scope details
- Listed on VIRTUS's LONDON9 (Slough) spec sheet; scope across other Slough buildings not stated.
ISO 14001
- Scope details
- Listed on VIRTUS's LONDON9 (Slough) spec sheet; scope across other Slough buildings not stated.
ISO 50001
- Scope details
- Listed on VIRTUS's LONDON9 (Slough) spec sheet; scope across other Slough buildings not stated.
ISO 45001
- Scope details
- Listed on VIRTUS's LONDON9 (Slough) spec sheet; scope across other Slough buildings not stated.
ISO 27001
- Scope details
- Listed on VIRTUS's LONDON9 (Slough) spec sheet; scope across other Slough buildings not stated.
ISO 22301
- Scope details
- Listed on VIRTUS's LONDON9 (Slough) spec sheet; scope across other Slough buildings not stated.
PCI DSS
- Scope details
- Listed on VIRTUS's LONDON9 (Slough) spec sheet; scope across other Slough buildings not stated.
Cyber Essentials
- Scope details
- Listed on VIRTUS's LONDON9 (Slough) spec sheet; scope across other Slough buildings not stated.
SloughGet directions ↗ (opens in a new tab) Site access
VIRTUS says the campus is about one mile from a fast rail link station with easy access to the M25 and M4; its LONDON9 spec sheet lists M4 Junction 6 at 2 miles, Heathrow at 8 miles and secure on-site parking.
Travel & local connections
Rail
Slough station
VIRTUS says a fast rail link station is about one mile away; Paddington to Slough about 17 minutes (LONDON9 spec sheet).
Motorway
M4 and M25
VIRTUS lists easy access to the M25/M4; LONDON9 is 2 miles from M4 Junction 6.
Airport
Heathrow Airport
8 MilesLONDON9 spec sheet.
YOUR QUESTIONS, ANSWERED
Frequently asked questions
Where is the VIRTUS Slough campus?
VIRTUS says the campus is on the Slough Trading Estate, about one mile from a rail station, with easy access to the M4 and M25.
How many VIRTUS data centres are in Slough?
VIRTUS lists seven: LONDON3, LONDON4, LONDON9, LONDON10, LONDON11, LONDON12 and LONDON19.
How much power does the Slough campus have?
VIRTUS states 145.5 MW of IT load in total, from 6.6 MW (LONDON10) to 33.5 MW (LONDON19), with racks of up to 80 kW.
Is the campus carrier neutral?
Yes. VIRTUS says the facilities are carrier neutral with a wide choice of Tier I and Tier II carriers and cloud on-ramps.
What resilience does VIRTUS publish for Slough?
The LONDON9 spec sheet lists N+N UPS, N+1 generators with 48 hours at full load and N+1 chilled water cooling. Confirm per-building specifications with VIRTUS.
About this listing
These details help you assess the listing. Confirm current availability and suitability with the operator.
- Status
- Information supplied
- Last reviewed
- Not yet reviewed